Junior B, Div 2B Cup Final, Newport Town AFC B 3-0 Pallas Utd

Friday, May 4 2018 (Jackman Park)

Scorers: John Ryan, Richie Shinners & Kalem Harte

Massive congratulations to the Junior B squad & management who won the Div 2B Eamon Rae Memorial Cup this evening in Jackman Park with a famous 3-0 win over Pallas Utd. John Ryan, Richie Shinners & Kalem Harte scored the goals to ensure that the cup headed to Derryleigh Park. Well done to all the players and the management team of Marc Barry, Dave ‘Dobs’ O’Brien & Mike ‘Bun’ O’Donoghue. Lots of images here.

Newport Bs perfected the art of hitting top form at the right time as they captured the Division 2B Eamon Ray Cup with an impressive 3-0 win over Pallasgreen at Jackman Park on Friday evening. With both teams out of the equation for promotion it was all focus on the cup and an evenly fought first half was tilted Newport’s’ way when the lively John Ryan raced clear of the defence to poke the ball past Denis O’Connor in the Pallas goal.

The Tipperary side upped the tempo after the break and doubled their lead on the hour mark. Kalem Harte played the ball wide for Brian O’Riordan who dazzled the Pallas defence with footwork before crossing. Duane Carroll headed clear but waiting 20 yards out was Richie Shinners who hit a daisy cutter through a crowded goalmouth to the back of the net low to the keeper’s right.

Before Pallas could attempt a comeback their tormentor in chief Kalem Harte raced onto Jamie Collins long pass to lob the ball over the advancing keeper to wrap up the win. Goals win games but special mention to Kieran ‘Fletch’ O’Sullivan who was a colussus at the heart of the defence and surely will get a call from Dyson as he hoovered up everything that came his way.

Team: Eoin Larkin; Liam Connolly; Dave O’Brien; Ger O’Brien; Kieran O’Sullivan; Richie Shinners; Kalem Harte; Stephen Carroll; Brian O’Riordan; John Ryan; Jamie Collins. Subs: David Kennedy; Jordon Clancy; Kieran Casey; Dermot Ryan; Mark Barry; Tristan O’Sullivan; Seamus Bridgeman, Mike Kennedy & Dean Ryan
Management: David O’Brien, Marc Barry & Mike O’Donoghue