2018/2019 Manager:
Dave O’Brien
Assistants: Joe Hogan & Mike O’Donoghue
Team Captain: John Ryan
Vice-Captain: Kieran ‘Fletch’ O’Sullivan & Eoin Larkin
Training Times: Thursday (9-10pm)

You can keep up to date on all things relating to Limerick Junior Soccer on the LDL website.

Junior Season Preview

With pre-season completed, the 2018/2019 Junior season kicks-off this evening when the Junior A team, under the helm of new manager, Marc Barry, welcome Knockainey to Derryleigh Park with a 6.30pm start. This will be a tough opener for the A team as the visitors were unlucky to be relegated from Div 1A last season and no doubt will be anxious to bounce straight back up. Knockainey have strengthened their squad during the off-season with the signing of former Janesboro player, John Tierney. However, Newport have also been active over the summer and the signings of Dave Ryan from Pike and Christy Doyle from Fairview along with the experienced Jimmy Fyffe will bring lots of experience and talent to the squad. Blend this with the introduction of some of last year’s league winning Youth side and you have an exciting mix of players who will hopefully start the season well and look to better their 5th place league finish last season.

The B’s start their league campaign in Div 2B tomorrow evening when Athlunkard B will be the visitors to Derryleigh Park at 6.30pm. Dave ‘Dobs’ O’Brien will once again be player-manager for the B’s and following-on from their Cup win and third place in the league last season, sights will be firmly set on being involved in the promotion shake-up at the end of the season. Dobs has a large squad to choose from and will also be a mixture of youth and experience, again with some of last season’s youths making the progression from under-age football. Continue reading

Limerick League Junior Teams of the Season

Congratulations to the Newport players who have been selected on the 2017/2018 Limerick League divisional teams of the season. We have representation from our B team and U18 & U17 sides. This is a great honour for both the players and the club. Click here for full list of teams.

Div 2B: Kieran ‘Fletch’ O’Sullivan, Kalem Harte & John Ryan
U18 Div 2: James Lynch, Ben Wixted, Elliott Slattery & Devlin Courtney
U17 Div 2: Jack Foley, Jack Noble & Robert Duggan

Junior B, Div 2B Cup Final, Newport Town AFC B 3-0 Pallas Utd

Friday, May 4 2018 (Jackman Park)

Scorers: John Ryan, Richie Shinners & Kalem Harte

Massive congratulations to the Junior B squad & management who won the Div 2B Eamon Rae Memorial Cup this evening in Jackman Park with a famous 3-0 win over Pallas Utd. John Ryan, Richie Shinners & Kalem Harte scored the goals to ensure that the cup headed to Derryleigh Park. Well done to all the players and the management team of Marc Barry, Dave ‘Dobs’ O’Brien & Mike ‘Bun’ O’Donoghue. Lots of images here.

Newport Bs perfected the art of hitting top form at the right time as they captured the Division 2B Eamon Ray Cup with an impressive 3-0 win over Pallasgreen at Jackman Park on Friday evening. With both teams out of the equation for promotion it was all focus on the cup and an evenly fought first half was tilted Newport’s’ way when the lively John Ryan raced clear of the defence to poke the ball past Denis O’Connor in the Pallas goal.

The Tipperary side upped the tempo after the break and doubled their lead on the hour mark. Kalem Harte played the ball wide for Brian O’Riordan who dazzled the Pallas defence with footwork before crossing. Duane Carroll headed clear but waiting 20 yards out was Richie Shinners who hit a daisy cutter through a crowded goalmouth to the back of the net low to the keeper’s right.

Before Pallas could attempt a comeback their tormentor in chief Kalem Harte raced onto Jamie Collins long pass to lob the ball over the advancing keeper to wrap up the win. Goals win games but special mention to Kieran ‘Fletch’ O’Sullivan who was a colussus at the heart of the defence and surely will get a call from Dyson as he hoovered up everything that came his way.

Team: Eoin Larkin; Liam Connolly; Dave O’Brien; Ger O’Brien; Kieran O’Sullivan; Richie Shinners; Kalem Harte; Stephen Carroll; Brian O’Riordan; John Ryan; Jamie Collins. Subs: David Kennedy; Jordon Clancy; Kieran Casey; Dermot Ryan; Mark Barry; Tristan O’Sullivan; Seamus Bridgeman, Mike Kennedy & Dean Ryan
Management: David O’Brien, Marc Barry & Mike O’Donoghue