Junior A, Div 1B, Kilfrush 3-1 Newport Town AFC

Sunday, November 25, 2018 (Elton)

Scorer: Brian O’Sullivan

The Junior A side suffered a disappointing 3-1 defeat away to league leaders Kilfrush on Sunday morning in a top-of-the-table league clash. Missing some regulars, Newport knew this was going to a tough game and so it proved to be. Newport started well, and Elliott Slattery was denied a goal from a 25 yard-free kick when the Kilrush keeper did very well to tip the ball over the bar. The first half was a very close affair with both sides cancelling each other out and neither creating any real clear-cut chances. The game remained scoreless up to half-time.

In the 55th minute, Jimmy Fyffe in the Newport goal pulled-off a spectacular save from a shot that was destined for the top-corner. Just 1 minute later Newport opened the scoring when Brian ‘Clemy’ O’Sullivan picked up a loose ball and from 30 yards out, drilled a low strike which beat the keeper low to his right. Definitely a contender for goal of the season. This goal sparked Kilfrush into life and in the 63rd minute, their player latched onto a cross into the box, when left unopposed at the backpost and despite Jimmy Fyffe’s best efforts, he slid the ball under the keeper to level the game.

Just 5 minutes later, Kilfrush took the lead when Newport failed to deal with another ball into the box. The home side then began to exert more pressure on the Newport rear-guard and ensured the 3 points would be theirs when they scored their third in the 87th minute to make it 3-1 and despite Newport’s best efforts we were unable to pull a goal back.

This defeat leaves Newport 5 points behind Kilfrush but we have a game-in-hand with half the games played so lots of football to be played and lots of twists & turns before the season is over.

Match Day Squad: Jimmy Fyffe, Kevin O’Brien, Mark McGuire, Sean Ryan, Elliott Slattery, Peter O’Sullivan, Kevin Connolly, Darren Collins, Dave Kennedy, Brian O’Sullivan (Capt.), Christy Doyle, Nathan Hartigan, Kalem Harte, Jack Noble, Brendan Coffey, Ciaran Flynn & Colin Coleman